Call free on:

0800 622 6599

Int:

+44 (0) 1865 988 307

Julia Ponsford

MA, PGCE

Subject: Primary English, Geography, History, Maths, Science

Having studied History at Edinburgh, I worked for two years in magazine publishing in London, before returning to Edinburgh to complete my PGCE in Primary Teaching.

Since then I have worked in eight schools, ranging from small village primaries to George Heriot’s, a large 4 to 18 years private school in the centre of Edinburgh. Most recently, I have worked in and around Oxford in two state secondary schools and the Dragon School. At the Dragon School, I  taught and supported children from years 4-8 (aged 8-13) looking to enter some of the top private schools in the country.

For the last two years, I have worked as a Tutor in Oxford for children aged between 7 and 16. In this role, I have been able to develop an in-depth knowledge of a variety of learning styles and ways to support specific difficulties children may have in their learning.

My own children are dyslexic, dyspraxic and dysgraphic (difficulty with writing). They have educated me and enabled me to find different ways to approach learning which I have found invaluable when teaching children of every ability level.

I have a passion for helping children to develop confidence and to find their potential across the curriculum. I have strengths in supporting literacy and enjoy the challenge of developing a child’s ability to communicate their ideas in every subject. Most of all I hope to engage your child in a love of learning that will be life-long, and to give them the skills and knowledge to take them forward on their educational journey.

I live in Oxford with my husband and three children; we enjoy family holidays to Cornwall, playing tennis and walks around the city and the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside.

Back to Top